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Marijuana -Under 21 in Colorado

Laws and Penalties from the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.)

Introduction

SB14-129 added marijuana-related offenses and penalties to the section of
C.R.S. Title 18 (Criminal Code) that addresses underage use of alcohol.

Definitions

Possession of Marijuana means that a person has or holds any amount
of marijuana anywhere on his or her person or that a person owns or has
custody of marijuana or has marijuana within his or her immediate
presence and control. (C.R.5.18-13-122(2) (f))

Marijuana Paraphernalia means any equipment, products, or
materials of any kind which are used, intended for use, or designed for
use in planting, propagating, cultivating, growing, harvesting,
composting, manufacturing, compounding, converting, producing,
processing, preparing, testing, analyzing, packaging, repackaging,
storing, vaporizing, or containing marijuana, or for ingesting, inhaling, or
otherwise introducing marijuana into the human body. (Colorado Constitution
XVl Sec. 16(2)(g))

Illegal Possession and Consumption

Except as described by Section 14 of article XVIII of the Colorado Constitution and 18-18-406.6
and 406.3 (pertaining to medical use of marijuana) = (C.R.S. 18-13-122(3) (b)(c) and (d))

A person under twenty-one years of age who possesses one ounce or less
of marijuana or consumes marijuana anywhere in the state of Colorado
commits illegal possession or consumption of marijuana by an underage
person.

A person under twenty-one years of age who possesses marijuana
paraphernalia anywhere in the state of Colorado and knows or
reasonably should know that the drug paraphernalia could be used in
circumstances in violation of the laws of Colorado commits illegal
possession of marijuana paraphernalia by an underage person.

A violation of these two laws is an unclassified petty offense.
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e C.R.S. 42-2-125 (Traffic Code)

o Addresses driver license
revocations for persons
under 21 if convicted of
violating 18-13-122's
possession and consumption
of marijuana or possession of
marijuana paraphernalia laws

e C.R.S. 42-4-1301 (Traffic Code)

o Pertains to Driving While

Ability is Impaired
e C.R.S. 42-4-1305.5 (Traffic Code)

o Describes prohibitions and
exceptions to having open
marijuana containers in
motor vehicles

e C.R.S. 18-1-711 (Exemptions
from Criminal Responsibility)
o SB14-129 also added

possession or consumption
of marijuana by an
underage person to this
section of statute.

e C.R.S 18-18-406 (Criminal Code)

o Pertains to offenses

related to marijuana and
marijuana concentrate
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Penalties

C.R.S. 18-13-122 (4) (a)(b)and (c)
First Offense
¢ Fine of not more than $100, or
¢ Court ordered to complete a substance abuse education program approved by the Division of
Behavioral Health (DBH), Colorado Department of Human Services.
Second Offense
¢ Fine of not more than $100 and the court shall order the underage person to:
e Complete a DBH-approved substance abuse education program,
s If deemed necessary and appropriate, submit to a DBII-approved substance abuse
assessment and complete any treatment recommended by the assessment, and
e Perform up to twenty-four hours of useful public service subject to 18-1.3-507.
Third or Subsequent Offense —
o Fine of up to $250 and the court shall order the underage person to:
e Submit to a DBH-approved substance abuse assessment and complete any treatment
recommended by the assessment, and
e Perform up to thirty-six hours of useful public service subject to 18-1.3-507.

Immunity from Criminal Prosecution

C.R.S. 18-13-122 (7)

An underage person shall be immune from criminal prosecution if he or she establishes the following:

e He or she called 911 and reported in good faith that another underage person was in need of
medical assistance due to marijuana consumption;

e He or she provided his or her name to the 911 operator;

¢ He or she was the first person to make the 911 report; and

e He or she remained on the scene with the underage person in need of medical assistance
until assistance arrived and also cooperated with medical assistance or law enforcement
personnel on the scene.

Where can I learn more?

Information for parents, youth, school staff and the general public can be located at the following websites:
e “Understand the Big Deal: How Marijuana Harms Youth”:

http://www.cde.state.co.us/dropoutprevention/resources

e Official State of Colorado website for Retail Marijuana Information and Resources:
https://sites.google.com/a/state.co.us/marijuana/

e National Institute on Drug Abuse: http://www.drugabuse.gov/
e Department of Revenue Rules for Medical and Retail Marijuana:
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/Rev-MMJ/CBON/1251592984795
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